AF is the resource organization for the CRZBNF (Climate Resilient Zero Budget Natural Farming) Programme in Ananthapuramu District, aiming to transform agriculture paradigm to be low-cost, climate resilient, chemical free, eco-regenerative and remunerative to farmers.

Project Photos

Building social capital with 3000 master farmers who train about 30,000 farmers on rain fed farming and drought management

Cement Pond Demo

Our Objectives

To diversify income opportunity like annual crops, tree crops, livestock, non-farm employment etc.


  1. Increasing income of over 30,000 small and marginal farmer families through adoption of CRZBNF & Drought Mitigation practices with support & guidance from 3000 professionally trained & certified Master farmers
  2. To stabilize livelihoods of rainfed small and marginal farmers by integration of CRZBNF and Drought Mitigation practices covering 156 farmer families in 3 model resource villages by promoting CRZBNF, drought mitigation technologies & Practices and diversified livelihoods.
  3. To create a micro model of a healthy agro-ecology in Thammaiahdoddi village located in arid drought prone district of Anantapur and restore the agro-biodiversity.

Project Description

Developing a team of trainers:

A team comprising 23 field trainers at cluster level and 5 resource persons at district level resource persons are trained on CRZBNF and drought mitigation technologies and practices that in turn provide support and training at cluster & district levels in developing master farmers and strengthening DPMU.

Developing master farmers:

The core objective of the program is to develop 3000 farmers who are passionate practitioners of CRZBNF practices and keen to provide necessary trainings and handholding support to at least 10 farmers per master farmer in following the CRZBNF and drought mitigation practices.

Developing resource villages:

AF has successfully demonstrated technologies and practices to protect dry land crops under low and erratic rain fall conditions on reasonable scale. These demonstrations proved to be highly beneficial in securing income from dry land farming under moderate drought conditions. It is very important to scale up these technologies and practices to reach rain-fed farmers who constitute about 70% of the total farmer families in the district. Hence AF proposes to develop resource villages with an objective of providing drought mitigation solutions at a visible scale which would be replicated in other parts of district.

Capacity building of DPMU:

AF provides resource support to the DPMU of Anantapur district in terms of sensitisation on CRZBNF initiative, planning & reviewing of the progress for reflection and improvisation and on developing a system for providing necessary extension services to the farmers who adopt CRZBNF practices.
Strengthening the FPOs with increased membership catering to the livelihood security needs of about 1500 families through provision of services for mitigating droughts, reducing the costs & risks and increasing the output and income




Resource Villages

Focused Communities

Small and marginal farmer families

Single women farmers

Physically challenged

Landless – Tenant farmers (POP)

Rainfed small and marginal farmers (2-5 Acres)

Single women farmers

Physically challenged

No. of Families

30,000 small and marginal farmer



No. of Villages

94 villages

4 Resource villages


26 mandals

3 mandals

Our Project Areas

Resource Village – Mandal

1.Khairevu(V) – Settur (M)

2. Bandameedapalli (V) & Thammaiah Doddi (V) – Kundurpi (M)

3. M.Cherlopalli (V) – Rapthadu (M)

FNGO Clusters

Settur Mandal

  1. Chintharlapalli
  2. Ayyagarlapalli
  3. Mucharlapalli
  4. Khairevu
  5. Makodiki
  6. Lakshmampalli
  7. Cherlopalli
  8. Bochupalli
  9. Yerraborepalli
  10. Kambalapalli


  1. Rayadurg
  2. Kalyandurg
  3. Atmakur
  4. Settur
  5. Kundurpi
  6. Chilamathaur
  7. Somandepalli
  8. Madakasira
  9. Talupula
  10. Amadaguru
  11. Kadiri
  12. Tanakallu
  13. Vajrakarur
  14. Kuderu
  15. Pamidi
  16. Gooty
  17. B.K.Samudram
  18. Narpala
  19. Tadipatri
  20. Bathalapalli
  21. Dharmavaram
  22. Rapthadu
  23. Bukkapatnam
  24. C.K.Palli
  25. Anantapur rural

Associate Organisations / Donors